Thirsk-Feinstein PhD Dissertation Prize

Skip to Navigation

Skip to Search

The Economic History Society has introduced an annual prize of £1,000 for the best doctoral dissertation in Economic and/or Social History.

Eligible candidates can be nominated by a dissertation supervisor or an examiner.  All dissertations must be written in English and must have been awarded during the calendar year preceding the prize.  For example, to be eligible for the 2020 prize the thesis must have been awarded during 2019.  Nominations should be accompanied, in the first instance, by the following: 

  • A covering letter from the student's supervisor, stating in no more than two sides why the dissertation is so outstanding that it should be considered for a prize. The contact details of the nominee should be provided.
  • A copy of the external examiner's/examiner committee's report.

If the Prize Committee deems that the dissertation merits serious consideration, a copy of the thesis will be requested. Please note that we will be unable to return these.

The winner of the Thirsk-Feinstein Prize will be announced each year at the annual conference.

Nominations, and supporting materials, should please be sent electronically to the Administrative Secretary.  The deadline for applications is 31 December 2020.

Prize winners

Add This Social Media Links