Editorial Team

Skip to Navigation

Skip to Search

Managing Editor: Professor Patrick Wallis
Patrick Wallis is Professor of Economic History in the Department of Economic History at the London School of Economics and Political Science. His research explores the economic, social and medical history of early modern Britain and Europe. Much of his recent work has focused on how apprenticeship generated a skilled workforce in this period to, and whether institutional differences in training within England or between regions in Europe contributed to wider patterns of development. He also has a long-standing interest in how people’s engagement with medical care developed between the sixteenth century and the present.

Editor: Professor Giovanni Federico

FedericoGiovanni Federico is currently a professor at New York University Abu Dhabi. He has an MA in History, University of Pisa and Scuola Normale Superiore, Pisa; PhD in Economic History, Scuola Normale Superiore. He has been professor of Economic History, European University Institute, editor of the European Review of Economic History and president of the European Historical Economic Society (2013-2015). He has published An economic history of the silk industry 1800-1938 (Cambridge 1997), The economic development of Italy, with J.Cohen (Cambridge 2000), Feeding the world: An economic History of world agriculture (Princeton 2005) and articles on world trade and globalization and European market integration, as well as on many issues in Italian economic history (agricultural growth, trade and protection, national accounts, welfare and real wages, industrial policy, business strategies history etc.

Editor: Professor John Turner
TurnerJohn Turner has been a Professor of Finance and Financial History at Queen’s University Belfast since 2005.  His research is focused on the long-run evolution and development of banking, banking crises, bubbles, and financial markets. He is the author of Banking in Crisis, published by Cambridge University Press. Banking in Crisis won the 2015 Wadsworth Prize.

Reviews Editor: Dr Leigh Gardner

GardnerLeigh Gardner is Associate Professor of Economic History at the London School of Economics and Research Associate in African economic history at the University of Stellenbosch, South Africa.  She is the author of ‘Taxing Colonial Africa: The Political Economy of British Imperialism’ (2012) and co-editor of ‘Our Turn to Eat: Politics in Kenya since 1950’ (2010) as well as a number of journal articles and book chapters on the history of public finance and economic development in Sub-Saharan Africa.

Editorial Assistant: Dr Heather Falvey

Heather Falvey is a Tutor in early modern social and local history for the Institute of Continuing Education at the University of Cambridge and for the Department for Continuing Education at the University of Oxford.  Her research interests concern social relations, unrest and local politics in early modern England. Her publications include several record society volumes, articles in Parliamentary History, Rural History, Agricultural History Review and Local Population Studies, and chapters in various edited collections.

Editorial Board
Robert Allen, New York University
Gareth Austin, University of Cambridge
Mark Bailey, University of East Anglia
Michael Bordo, Rutgers University
Edmund Cannon, University of Bristol
Nick Crafts, University of Warwick
Tim Hatton, Australian National University
Alfonso Herranz-Loncan, Universitat de Barcelona
Sara Horrell, London School of Economics
Jane Humphries, University of Oxford
Alejandra Irigoin, London School of Economics
Debin Ma, London School of Economics
Paolo Malanima, ISSM, Naples
Kevin O’Rourke, University of Oxford
Max-Stephan Schulze, London School of Economics
Richard Smith, University of Cambridge
Nikolaus Wolf, Humboldt University, Berlin
Nuala Zahedieh, University of Edinburgh
Jan Luiten van Zanden, Utrecht University

Compilers of Annual List of Publications
Matthew Hale
Graham Raymond
Catherine Wright

Officers of the Economic History Society
Professor Stephen Broadberry (President)
Dr Helen Paul (Hon. Secretary)
Professor Jim Tomlinson (Hon. Treasurer)

Periodical Reviewers
David Higgins
David Hitchcock
Rory Naismith
Sarah Roddy
Philip Slavin
Judy Stephenson

Add This Social Media Links